top of page
  • ciararunsraces

Product Review: Knockaround Sunglasses

Updated: Nov 16, 2021

Looking for something sturdy, lightweight and affordable? Knockaround has cracked the formula with a wide variety of styles and features to impress all types of outdoor enthusiasts.

 

NOTE: I received these Knockaround sunglasses as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador) here, or by checking out my blog post about the program. Visit BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews!

 

Fall racing season is upon us! The temperatures dip down and bring those cooler breezes that make every runner want to dash out the door and hit the pavement. This fall brought a particularly busy racing season for many runners due to COVID pushing many early 2021 races toward the end of the year. I'm sitting here writing this on Day 3 of recovery coming off the Los Angeles Marathon, bringing my fall race total up to 10 races in 3 months. WHEW!

Strolling through Central Park in Knockaround's Fast Lanes.

Like many runners, I'm the type of person who has my "go-to" race-day gear -- the favorite socks, the favorite nutrition, etc. With a racing schedule as packed as this fall has been, having reliable gear not only makes the pre-race preparation less stressful, but it makes the racing experience that much better when you're feeling good running with your favorite products.


Until recently, I felt like I hadn't found my "go-to" sunglasses. It's been a challenge to find durable glasses at an affordable rate, especially ones designed for runners. I'll be the first to admit that most of my glasses (that is, the ones I don't manage to lose) often fall victim to fates such as being dropped and scratched, being chewed on by my dog, banging around inside the blackhole of my purse, or even being sat on (I've done this more times than I'd like to admit.) And then I learned about Knockaround.


I have two pairs of Knockaround sunglasses: a pair of the Fast Lanes from the Sport Collection -- great for all types of outdoor active lifestyles, and a pair of the Pacific Palisades -- perfect for a laid back weekend by the pool. I received these right at the start of my fall season, and decided to put them to the test -- from local neighborhood walks and training runs all the way through 26.2 miles of the Los Angeles Marathon, these pairs came along with me for the ride, and they both delivered! (And may or may not have helped me take some of the best mid-race photos of my life!)


I never look this good during a run -- it's the shades.

The first thought that came to mind with both Knockaround pairs is that they strike the perfect balance of being study AND lightweight. They never slid off my face or bounced around on the bridge of my nose while wearing them -- especially my Fast Lanes, thanks to their rubber nose grips to keep the fit snug and comfortable. In addition, they fit squarely on my head without any pressure on my temples. As for the lenses, these FDA-approved, polarized beauties not only offer UV400 protection from the sun, but they're impact-resistant too!


"The first thought that came to mind with both Knockaround pairs is that they strike the perfect balance of being study AND lightweight."

Beyond the practical features of these shades, Knockaround offers a really wide selection of styles and colors, so there's something for everyone on their site. Even the pickiest of shoppers will rejoice with their Custom Shop feature! Knockaround's frames combine fashion and focus to create sunglasses that are perfect for any setting. (And will most likely make you look 100% cooler on your next run.)


Halloween fun in my Pacific Palisades!

I may be a transplant to the West Coast, but I've embraced the Cali lifestyle, and I love that Knockaround's style and brand reflect that same bright and vibrant attitude that they showcase in their designs -- all at a ridiculously affordable price. And what better place to show off your sunnies than in SoCal?! As you know, we're never really without sun, no matter the time of year!


Overall, the biggest wins for me with these sunglasses come from their study frames, protective, tough lenses, and comfortable nose grips of the Sport Collection. I couldn't be happier with these shades and I'm so excited to have finally found my "go-to" sunglasses for race day and beyond!

Shop the entire collection and grab a pair (or pairs!) for yourself! If you're interested in learning more about the many different styles Knockaround offers, check out some other reviews from my fabulous fellow BibRave Pros!










Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page