top of page
  • ciararunsraces

Product Review: Brooks Ghost 14 Running Shoes

Summer fun has arrived in style with a triple-threat sneaker from Brooks!


Spending 4th of July weekend running back-to-back races in my new kicks!

 

NOTE: I received the Brooks Ghost 14s as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador) here, or by checking out my blog post about the program. Visit BibRave.com to review, find, and write race reviews!

 

Happy summer! The temperatures are rising, the sun is shining, and marathon training is underway! I’m signed up to run my 4th running of the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend in January (the Dopey Challenge of course) as well as my 2nd time running the Los Angeles Marathon in March. Two marathons in such a short time is tough on sneakers, so of course, what better way to kick off those summer miles than with NEW SHOES!


I’m loving my new Brooks Ghost 14 sneakers – they’re super comfortable, provide amazing support, and are carbon neutral, promoting sustainability! (And to top it off, the berry color is SO CUTE!)


I started off by going on a couple brisk walks around the neighborhood to make sure they were laced comfortably and fitting well. I normally pair a new set of socks or shoes with some balm to help prevent blisters, but I found that these shoes didn’t need it, as they were very easy to break in.

This color is so cute - they got a lot of compliments on race day!

I decided to really break in these shoes over the 4th of July weekend by running two back-to-back races. Both races were 5ks and I was really pleased with how well these shoes performed, both during the races, but also in terms of next-day wear. Personally, I like shoes that offer some cushion, but still have a strong enough support to help prevent pain developing early – especially when I’m deep into double-digit miles. From start line to take-off to handling turns, the sneakers responded very well to terrain changes. The Brook Ghost 14 soles offer a perfect blend of support without any stiffness or pinching and felt great after both races!


Outside of training and racing, my boyfriend and I recently moved (why did end up moving in the HOTTEST time of year in SoCal?!). With so much time on my feet, I didn’t hesitate to reach for these sneakers! From lifting heavy boxes to making trips from the van to the apartment, these sneakers provided excellent support, and were still comfortable at the end of a long day.


In addition to being so versatile and supportive, one of my favorite features is that these shoes are carbon neutral! The sneaker industry can be so incredibly wasteful in both production and disposal, so I love that Brooks is working to help promote sustainability!


With long-lasting comfort, balanced support, quick responsiveness, and environmental focus, the Brooks Ghost 14 sneakers stand the test no matter what adventure you set out to conquer -- perfect for anyone who loves to Run Happy!









bottom of page