top of page
  • ciararunsraces

Why Yes, I Am Nuts.

You've probably asked yourself what on Earth possessed me to think I could take on 100 Half Marathons across every single state. Well, here's your answer.


That One Time I looked like Axl Rose's Midwestern cousin.

My name is Ciara, and I like challenges.


January 2016. I went down to Orlando for a brief winter getaway and made the delightful mistake of going to Epcot on the same day at the Walt Disney World Marathon. (For those unaware — non-runners should AVOID the park that day. For those aware, you’re already bemoaning at my stupidity and I HEAR YOU.)


While my family groaned about the constant stream of runners blocking traffic and walkways, I was in AWE. At that point I became obsessed with training to one day run the marathon. Countless early morning laps around the park and late-night miles at the gym. In 2019, I ran my first Dopey Challenge. I took a much needed rest, but then it felt like more of a hibernation instead.


2020 was a bust for in-person racing, unless you were lucky enough to squeeze in your goal race before March. I grew sick of the stream of cancellation emails, that, while predictable, were no less disappointing. Some people threw themselves into “Body Builder” mode while stuck at home. Some baked a LOT of bread.


I found myself sort of… existing?

.

I look back on 2020 and feel a lot of regret. Time that I could have spent being productive. It also made me realize that feeling mature doesn’t necessarily mean you feel like an “Adult.” I’m not that kind of person who organically has their shit together, so speak.


But now it’s 2021. The pandemic is still here, but for many of us runners — this is a new opportunity to think even BIGGER.

“I've decided to reclaim my running journey by truly investing in the journey of it."

So, instead of running a race, snapping those victory selfies and then slothing it on the couch for months on end, I’ve decided to reclaim my running journey but truly investing in the journey of it. So, I joined the Fifty States Half Marathon Club, filled with tons of other runners from across the country who, like me, also love a good challenge.


So this blog is dedicated to following my journey to tackle not just one, or even ten races, but 100 half marathons. And hopefully figuring out to feel more “adult-like” along the way.


Will I stumble? Of course. It’s inevitable. But with time, each stumble will feel less and less like a reset.


After all, I DID say I like challenges.


-C



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page